Thursday, August 27, 2009

Customer Service: ProFlowers

In February, I ordered flowers from ProFlowers.com. They are constantly advertising on sports talk radio, and I was swayed to order a dozen (or was 18 or 24?) roses for Future Mrs. B. All was well until this morning...

When I checked my credit card statement (to see if the charge for our honeymoon had been posted- and yes, it had- we're going to Jamaica!) I noticed a rather unusual charge. The charge was for $14.95 from Easy Saver in Maryland. Hmm... I tried to think of every expense over the last few days and couldn't come up with a thing. So I Googled "Easy Saver" along with the phone number provided and was immediately shown message boards of this scam. It originates with your order at ProFlowers. They will extend an offer for $15 off your next order, and if you click the coupon, Easy Saver will give you a coupon, but then you will start getting charged $14.95 each month. What a great deal, right?! Needless to say I was furious, and I went back over my statements, and apparently I had over $100 in charges from this God-foresaken company. I immediately called them, and they are in the process of reversing the charges.

Even though Easy Saver was quick to refund the charges (they obviously get this a lot) I wasn't satisfied. ProFlowers should burn in hell for duping people into signing up for spam credit card charges. Here is the email I wrote them:

Hello,

I bought flowers for my fiance for this past Valentine's Day. Today I noticed a charge on my credit card from the Easy Saver company. As I looked back, I had been charged 7 TIMES since March. I did a quick internet search and found that the reason I had been charged originated from my purchase with your company.

It is horrible business practice to slyly sneak charges onto credit cards, and whether it is your actual company charging, or if you just have some business partnership with Easy Saver, I can tell you this- I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ONE PETAL OF A FLOWER FROM YOUR COMPANY AGAIN. Please remove my name off of every single email list you have and never send me anything ever again. I will also encourage my friends, family and co-workers to never use your service, ever, ever, ever again.

Anthony Bataska

And they replied with (my extra comments will be in parenthesis):

"Dear Anthony,

Thank you for contacting ProFlowers. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our mailings have caused you. (It wasn't your mailings- it was your shady business that was the problem.) Your name has been removed from our list, but this change may not be reflected for one to two weeks. (Really? Two weeks to remove me from an email list? You really do excel at slow service ProFlowers!)

Please let us know if you have any further concerns regarding this issue. (Well, since I already told you never to contact me again, I have a concern with you listening at less than a third grade level.)

We really appreciate your feedback on the EasySaver Rewards program. (Doubtful.) Rest assured, we take your comments seriously and we are constantly evaluating our partner programs to ensure they are providing the best value to our customers. (I'm on pins and needles!)

We apologize for any confusion you may have had with the enrollment process or the program itself. Let me take a moment to summarize the program enrollment. (Oh, so this is the part where it becomes my fault that you have an ass-backwards business practice that is diseased with small print.) After you make a purchase on our site, we offer a $15 coupon good towards your next purchase. If you click on that coupon you will land on a registration page to join our EasySaver Rewards program. In order to enroll and receive the coupon, you must enter your email address and zip code as your acceptance of the terms and conditions of the program. The enrollment process and related partner program fees are stated within the Offer Details to the left of the "accept" button. (Well, what if I told you that I'd rather buy from a place that isn't directly attempting to rip me off- would that shock you? Your pseudo-polite language is condescending and overlooking the obvious point that this is ridiculous and no one would sign up for it if they knew what was going on.)

We do not wish for any customer to be in the program who does not desire to be, and will help you to cancel your membership if you wish. If you have not already done so and would like to cancel this membership, feel free to call EasySaver Rewards directly at 1-800-355-1837 and simple instructions will be provided for you to cancel. (Already done by the time you wrote me- what's with the larger than 4pt font now?)

We understand your frustration and will incorporate your feedback as we refine the program for future customers. To follow up, I am going to forward your valuable comments to our group that oversees the program. Our customer experience is of the utmost importance and we will do anything to improve your future shopping experiences. (Oh really. You offered me nothing- not that I would've accepted it- but it really shows me that you really don't care about my future shopping experiences because there will be no more future experiences on your awful website.)

Once again, we apologize for your poor experience and we are here to help in any other way necessary. (No you're not, you want me to put in more effort to think of a way to make things right? I disagree completely. No more energy will be used after this.) If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are available for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. (Riiiiight. Just what I need, a 4am chat with one of your reps will make things all better, I'm sure.)


Best Regards,

HB Mary Tadiello
Customer Care
ProFlowers
Send love, not like. Send ProFlowers."
________________________________________________

So there you go. That's my horrid customer service experience for the week. Feel free to let everyone know that no matter what Dan Patrick says during Valentine's Day season, DO NOT shop at ProFlowers.com. Support a local florist or pick some daisies from a garden. There's no need to deal with extra shady charges and customer service agents who clearly could care less about future business.

23 comments:

Clarkster said...

so what were you supposed to get for this 100 or so dollars that they took from you and what the hell kind of program was this anyways.

Tony B. said...

Exactly. Rather than Easy Saving, it was Easy Taking My Money.

GMoney said...

I was a victim of this, too, and Easy Saver would not refund me the 15 bucks. I didn't want to deal with it anymore so I just had them cancel my shit and stop charging me in the future.

I got pretty much the same email back from ProFlowers, too. I was enraged and reading your saga only reminds me of this injustice.

Flanders: Homer, did you pick all of my flowers?
Homer: You can't have a float without flowers.
Flanders: Dually noted but did you have to salt the Earth so nothing ever grows there again?
Homer: Hehehe, yeah.

Tony B. said...

Goddamn ProFlowers for making us thoughtful men regret our decisions to buy flowers!

That Simpsons quote is awesome!

Mike Barton said...

Bro, I hate to be the devil's advocate, but these things have been around for years....Another similar one is to get 3 free months of magazine subscriptions after making a purchase. They then take your credit card and start charging you normal price after the 3 months...Anytime you get a post-purchase offer from a 3rd-party, it's usually best to avoid!
Also, if a dude from the Middle East emails you to help him transfer some money, I hate to tell you, but it's not real ;)

Tony B. said...

Barton, I can't believe you're going to take the side of the company on this one. I'm very aware of email scams. This one happened within a controlled site after I bought a product, then was offered another $15 off my next order. At no point did I re-enter my credit card, but of course it ended up being charged. It was much better disguised than your usual "I'm a Nigerian Prince, give me all your information for $1,000,000" type email.

I am not a naive internet shopper, that's why this is so offensive. ProFlowers aligns itself with a scamming company on purpose for a cut of the money. It's not a company I want to work with, or buy from ever.

Ninette said...

mmm you should call at 4am to chat anyway :) some place did that to me once.. i was pissed. only it was a 1.00/month charge (really??? a buck you are stealing?!) and i had no idea how the hell to remove it.. it was like jumping through hoops to cancel some dollar/month subscription i never even opted for.

Outsource Call Center said...

Oh' that was really bad experience! Customer service is vital to the success of any business. Despite how good your product or service is, customer service can make you up or it can break you. So you better treat your customer in a very nice way. Thanks for sharing.

-mel-

Anonymous said...

I was screwed by the same ProFlowers scam except it was from freeshipping.com for $11.97 per month for 18 months before my wife noticed it!!!!

gctaylor said...

Love the Blog. So true. I just ordered off Pro Flowers Web site where it offered me 20% off all orders placed today for $39.00 or more. It had a banner above it that said they could deliver today. So I clicked that and placed my order with ProFlowers Express. I didn't get my 20% off. I called and ProFlowers said that ProFlowers Express was a different company and they couldn't give me the discount for that company. (A company on their site with the same name is a different company???) There was no notice that I was directed to a different site or I was giving up my 20% discount. I am an attorney and this is an illegal bait and switch. I will never order from these sleeze balls again. They make sending flowers a stressful unhappy experience.

gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
gctaylor said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said...

So good topic really i like any post talking about Business Ideas and Advices but i want to say thing to u Human Relations not that only ... you can see in Business Human Relations and more , you shall search in Google and Wikipedia about that .... thanks a gain ,,,

Blogger said...

Sports betting system earn +$3,624 PROFIT last week...

Z-Code System winning bets and forecasts for NFL, NBA, MLB & NHL!